Favoirte Songs of May/June 2016

As you can see I haven’t made a “favorite songs of the month” post for May or June. I didn’t forget, I just haven’t been super into a lot of the new releases. Here’s what I liked though:

May:

AOA – Good Luck [Mini Album]

I wasn’t a huge fan of the song Good Luck, but 10 Seconds, Cherry Pop, Crazy Boy, and Still Falls The Rain were great and feel like AOA are going back to what made me originally become a fan of them.

San E – Like an Airplane [Single]

Nothing amazing but it’s San E and I love San E so I had to include it. The Boy Who Cried Wolf was one of the best albums of 2015 and you should listen to it if you haven’t already.

I.O.I – Chrysalis [Mini Album]

I still don’t get why they chose Dream Girls as a debut song when Crush is so much better. 벚꽃이 지면 is probably my favorite song on the mini, but it’s a Produce 101 song so I couldn’t add it to any lists.

Amber – On My Own [Single]

This song hit me right in the feels. Love you Amber, keep being yourself. I loved Shake that Brass by the way.

Beenzino – Life in Color [Single]

I didn’t like this song at first but after a few listens I got into it. The tempo change is really off putting the first time you listen but it makes sense.

Oh My Girl – Windy Day [Repackage]

There’s not much to say about this since it’s a repackage. Windy Day is a nice change of pace from the nonstop generic EDM and “pure” concept songs we’ve been getting though. Oh My Girl fighting!

CLC – Nu.Clear [Mini Album]

I won’t lie, I either haven’t listened to this album or just don’t remember any of the songs outside of No Oh Oh. No Oh Oh is alright though, and the new members Eunbin and Elkie have only been a positive so that’s nice.

Beenzino – 12 [Album]

It’s Beenzino, I love Beenzino almost as much as Blacknut does. Enough said.

 

June:

DIA – Happy Ending [Mini Album]

First of all I want to say Happy Ending is probably the worst name you could have chosen when your group just started their new beginning, if anything that should have been the album title. Happy Ending the song is alright though, reminds me of A Pink. 그 길에서, the title track, has been getting a bit of flack for sounding similar to GFriend but really who cares, it sounds good and that’s all that matters to me.

Younha – Get it? (feat HA:TFELT, Cheetah) [Single]

I really disliked Cheetah’s first rap but outside of that the song is perfect. Definitely did not expect to hear something like this in Kpop. Hopefully this collaboration isn’t only a one time thing.

Ayul – 어쩜 좋니 [Single]

I don’t know if she started in music, eSports, or Afreeca first but I know her from her Starcraft 2. Her 2nd single wasn’t too great and I can’t even find her first, but this one was pretty good.

San E, Raina – Sugar and Me [Single]

I was expecting A Midsummer Night’s Sweetness 2.0 (literally my most listened to song) so I was a little disappointed but it’s still alright. Any and all Raina is welcome (Pleids please give After School and/or Orange Caramel a comeback). Doyeon randomly being in this was great too, the world needs more Doyeon.

Sistar – Insane Love [Mini Album]

It’s summer which means it’s time for Sistar to come back and reclaim their throne. I Like That is a bit different than their normal sound which is great because I was getting a little bored. If you prefer the normal Sistar sound then you should check out Yeah Yeah. The other songs aren’t that great, but I Like That is so good it doesn’t mater.

Brave Girls – High Heels [Mini Album]

I haven’t listened to the whole album but High Heels has been stuck in my head so I figured it was good enough to mention. It really makes me wonder if this was meant to be an AOA song to go along with Short Hair and Miniskirt though. Also I love the voice of one of their main singers, I really need to learn who she is.

Pledis Girls – We [Single]

We is alright, not bad, just nothing new or amazing. It almost sounds kind of outdated, not in a bad way though. I’m just so used to GFriend clone #93293891. After School were sacrificed for Pledis Girls so I hope they succeed.

gugudan – Act.1 The Little Mermaid [Mini Album]

Similar to Pledis Girlz, their sound is really 2012ish. Good Boy almost sounds like it could be an old Girl’s Day song. I’m not complaining though, 2012-2014 were my favorite years of Kpop.

Sonamoo – I Like U Too Much [Mini Album]

Sense Man is so good…there are other songs but I don’t care about them, just go listen to Sense Man…

 

That list ended up being a lot longer than I thought it’d be. Hopefully it helped you find new songs. I listen to pretty much every new release, but if you think I missed something I might like please tell me!

Leave a Reply

